Voting, then Buying a Handgun

My husband and I did two things on election day.

First, we voted, dropping off our ballots at the country courthouse. 

Then we drove up to Kirkland to buy a handgun. 

Oh, yeah, we voted for Barack Hussein Obama and Christine Gregoire.  First time in his life he voted straight Democrat, first time he ever voted for a Democrat for President.

We would have stayed up watching the election returns and drinking champagne, except that the situation the country is in is too grave for that.

And, yeah, it took us a while to find a gun store that wasn’t staffed with nuts.  Enthusiasts are fine:  I would not want to buy jewelry from someone who didn’t love it, any more than I buy yarn and patterns from people who don’t love fiber.  Firearms are no different.  But there is a vast difference between knowledgeable enthusiasm and political lunacy.

Of course, the divide on gun ownership and hunting, which was very visible in a lot of the comments about Sarah Palin (and let’s be real clear on this:  NO ONE who eats meat that they do not shoot themselves has ANY moral standing to criticize her for hunting) is one of the results of this country’s political and cultural polarization. 

The Republican Party lost and lost big because they only thing they had to offer us was four more years of the same and worse:  a necessary war in Afghanistan, botched.  The Army and Marine Corps wrecked in an unnecessary war in Iraq.  The Treasury looted. The Department of Defense and the lack of universal health insurance another two messes.  In debt to China and the Arabs as far as the eye can see.  Immigration utterly broken.  (Let’s get morally and economically serious, folks:  we need a wall, then an amnesty.)  And they offered us:  hate for gay people who want their marriages legally and socially recognized, just like their parents’ were.  Hate for immigrants, rather than a revulsion at corporate exploitation of them in order to depress American wages.  Hate for all those of us who are supposedly not “real” Americans.  Hate for the Russians, who are often resorting to some unsavory methods (although anyone who knows how that country has behaved in the past also knows how much less unsavory those methods have become in only a few years) to protect their vital interests in their near-abroad.  And let me not neglect, hate for Barack Hussein Osa-err, excuse me, Obama.  Yeah, I got those kind of emails.  Also felons like Ted Stevens:  been a long time since a convicted felon has been reelected. 

Obama can’t save America.  President Right is not going to show although President McCain and perhaps President Palin would have been a hideous and unmitigated disaster.    But we might have a chance, now. 

I’ll be writing about that a little later this week.

8 thoughts on “Voting, then Buying a Handgun”

  1. smiles*

    Welcome home woman. You just think that you are a Democrat. You, Lady, are an American.

    I can’t wait till you post about all this later in the week.

    I was born and raised in California, and I left because of all the wierdo things that were going on around me. Perhaps a short visit might be in order?

  2. Patrick:

    Actually, I’ve always thought of myself as neither a Democrat nor a Republican, but a citizen. (In fact, that’s a theme I’m going to be elaborating on here.)

    Don’t understand your comment, “I can’t wait till you post about all this later in the week.”

    Could you elaborate on that and I’ll see if I can’t oblige with a post over this weekend or so?

    Best,
    Erin Solaro

  3. The point being a sort of enlightenment about politics. Most people grow up and follow what ever party that was not their parents, through rebellion. Then later, go to those roots. When in fact most of us really don’t like a lot of what this or that party does. The, at some point, we develop our own sense of these things. I am a philosophical Libertarian, but don’t care much for the Libertarian Party these past few years.
    It’s always refreshing for me to see people develop, and change. Hopefully, for the better.

  4. Patrick:

    I thought that was implied that I had bought a handgun. But yes, I did. Owned a handgun before (many, many years ago), owned long guns. But this is the first handgun I ever really bought for myself.

    Told my riding partner, who teaches at a very liberal college. Why’d you do that, blah, blah, blah, and then, Let’s go shooting!!!!

    So I’ll be going out with her after her finals. Probably take the horses. Good food (since she has the trailer, I bring the food), good horses, good conversation, and guns. What could be better?

    So, what does it mean when liberals buy guns and other liberals want to go shooting? Paranoia, or have words like liberal and conservative lost their meaning?

    I vote for the latter.

    Best,
    erin

  5. I have to agree that the terms no longer mean what they used to mean. That seems to be the way things are nowadays though.
    Last year I taught a seminar on basic handgun self defense. Most of the students were females, and most identified themselves as “liberals.” However, after we got to know each other better it appeared that they were classic liberals. What used to be commonly called Libertarian.

    Thanks for responding.

  6. Patrick:

    I respond when I can. I’m engaged in a massive push on the Doves to get a good rough cut of the first third or so of the novel by 30 Nov. Sometimes writing “Thank You” is impossible. Other times, I have nothing to say.

    Libertarians are like economists: when presented with something that works, they ask, Great, but how would it work in theory?

    I think my opinions on what conservatives and liberals have become are sufficiently pungent I need not air them again.

    One of the interesting things about watching the US come apart while, writing a novel set in the aftermath of the Soviet Union’s collapse from a fundamentally Russian perspective, is that it becomes enormously clear that we are at the dead end of ideologies, including economic.

    So one writes to offer people ideas that reflect reality.

    Best,
    Erin

  7. Delays are not a problem Erin, at least not with myself and blogging at least! 🙂

    I attended a seminar once where Milton Friedman said that ” Economics is the art of turning something incredibly simple into that which is beyond understanding.” Or something close to that.

    I once had to write a chapter on Incident Command for Emergency Medical Services. I started out thinking “cake!” This will be simple! Three weeks later? The editor found four misspells, three comma splices, and trade jargon that she found to be unacceptable. Two re-writes later and we went to print. Only to have the whole thing stamped “secret” because of terror threats. Live and learn.

    Take care and have a good one…

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

